InternetNZ and auDA unveil a new look Internet awards for 2016

ANZIAlogoNew year, new ANZIAs! The Australia and New Zealand Internet Awards (ANZIAs) have opened for 2016 entries with an exciting transformation - new categories, new judges and a new look and feel.

The official relaunch is in Melbourne at Above All Human on 29 January, Australia's leading start-up and tech conference, which will provide a fitting stage for the new-look ANZIAs given their mutual support for innovation on the Internet.

This year, InternetNZ and auDA, who run the annual awards programme together, have reviewed all the categories and introduced a Tech Startup Award. The Tech Startup Award will celebrate unique ventures that promote Internet-related technologies or markets. The award is supported by Fishburners - Australia's largest startup co-working space.

For the first time, all winners – both not-for-profit and commercial bodies – will be awarded a $2500AUD cash prize.

Jordan Carter, Chief Executive of InternetNZ says New Zealanders in the techspace should carefully consider how they can take part in the ANZIAs.

"The awards are a great opportunity to showcase and promote your work and they provide a great platform to get well-earned recognition," says Carter.

Chris Disspain, Chief Executive Officer of auDA, says "auDA is excited to relaunch the new-look ANZIAs and offer prize money to all winners, including tech startups, who we are pleased to support with the new category. We also welcome a talented and knowledgeable multi-sector judging panel.

"Since its inception eight years ago, we have regularly reviewed the ANZIA programme to assure it reflects the fast moving tech sector we work within. 2016 will see some of the biggest changes to date and we hope the greatest number of high calibre applicants, from all our stakeholder groups."

Graham McDonald will be returning as a 2016 ANZIA chief judge, and joining him for the first time will be Denis Moriarty – Group Managing Director of Our Community, Vanisa Dhiru – Executive Director of the 2020 Trust and Alan Dee of Fishburners.

The six ANZIA categories for 2016 are:

  • Security Award, supported by AusRegistry
  • Diversity & Digital Skills Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Tech Startup Award, supported by Fishburners
  • Information Award
  • The Leonie Dunbar Memorial Award for Community Websites

Enter now at

Entries close on Monday 10 June 2016. Winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne, Tuesday 30 August 2016.

For updates on the ANZIAs, like us on Facebook and follow us on Instagram or go to our website and register for news

Media contacts

Helen Hollins
General Manager, Communications
M: +61 481 507 221

Megan Baker
Communications Lead
Ph: +64 24 495 2332
M: +64 27 259 1425

About the ANZIAs

The ANZIAs are a collaboration between auDA and InternetNZ. An annual event celebrating the achievements of organisations, businesses and individuals who excel in delivering accessible, innovative, informative and secure resources to a diverse and wide community on the Internet.

Winners receive recognition as industry leaders that have set new standards for making the Internet a more inclusive, accessible and safe place. The awards offer public exposure, media coverage, networking opportunities, optimisation of future grant applications or investor engagement proposals, recognition for hardworking staff and volunteers and a cash prize of AUD$2,500.